Lucky Me!

I would like to start this blog post by stating that I love my wife very much! Next year will be our 10 year wedding anniversary and so far it has been a fantastic decade! Rewinding 20 years though, a good few years before my wife and I got together, there was only one girl for me; Erika Eleniak…

Although probably most famous for her role in Baywatch, Erika starred in E.T. – IMDb lists Erika’s character as ‘Pretty Girl’ – this is somewhat of an understatement, Elliott was a lucky boy! Like many young teenage boys, Saturday tea time was always spent in front of the television watching Baywatch and the reason for watching Baywatch was Shauni McClain! With her long blonde hair and her red bathing suit that almost fitted, Shauni kept us glued to the screen. Many of my friends were fickle and easily made the transition to C.J. (Pamela Anderson’s character in Baywatch), but once Shauni was gone, my interest in Baywatch quickly waned. As an older teenager, like most teenage boys, once we had seen it; what we most wanted for our birthday was an Under Siege birthday cake!

I can remember my mother’s disapproving looks at the images cut from magazines (Not July 1989! I was only 12 when that came out) and newspapers plastered all over my bedroom wall, there was 1 or 2 of Cindy Crawford, Claudia Schiffer occupied the back of my door, but at least 3 square metres were dedicated to Erika!

Let me say, that in general I am not really interested in the cult of celebrity, celebrity reality T.V. or any kind of celebrity gossip – it is just not my thing. I thought however that it would be ironic, if I could use Twitter, where so many ‘everyday’ people follow celebrities, to get a celebrity to follow me! I made it my New Year’s Resolution for 2013 to attract celebrity followers to see if they really would read my tweets in their busy, whirlwind celebrity lives. But who to ask first – I thought I would do an experiment and set my sights high – my teenage crush, Miss July 1989, Erika Eleniak! Imagine my surprise when…

Erika Eleniak

It seems that not only was she my teenage crush, but she is also a great sport and a thoroughly nice person! Funnily, this side of my teenage years and this side of marriage, my Mum thought this was fantastic when I showed her, strange how things change! My wife has also been as fantastic as ever – I can imagine a lot of wives becoming more than a little irate at their husband tweeting former Playboy models but not mine! It only goes to show how lucky I am, not only did the love of my teenage years stop and say hi, but the love of the rest of my years enjoyed it with me.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Thoughts
2 comments on “Lucky Me!
  1. kirkykoo79 says:

    Great story, but not sure about the sums in the first paragraph!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

