Perfect poaching!

I love poached eggs. On toast, on top of a salad, with smoked salmon or as Eggs Benedict – I can’t get enough! I tried various ways of getting to the perfect poached egg; saucepan, microwave plastic poaching devices, pouches etc. but I could never find a reliable method that gave consistently good results.

With a pan there was always conflicting advice on whether or not to add vinegar, how fast to swirl the water if at all – normally I would end up with a saucepan full of white eggy vinegary strands – not pleasant to look at or to eat! With the microwave devices which clipped shut, you had to pierce the yolk which I found always affected the final aesthetic of the egg. I also always found it impossible to judge how to time the cooking – on first inspection virtually raw, 10 seconds later exploded all over the roof of the microwave! The pouches were the best thing I used, but even then I struggled with consistency.

Eventually, after much experimentation, I found a method which I consider to be a combination of the above three methods – I cannot promise it will work for you, but it almost always works for me…

  1. Boil a kettle and pour about 4cm of boiling water into a deep cereal bowl.
  2. Crack a medium egg into the middle of the bowl being careful not to break the yolk.
  3. Microwave on full power (850W) for 45 seconds.
  4. Carefully remove the bowl (the water and bowl will be very hot) then using a slotted spoon, remove the egg from the water.

 

Hey presto, perfect poached egg!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Food
2 comments on “Perfect poaching!
  1. kirkykoo79 says:

    Worth a try!

  2. […] A Poached Egg (see previous post on Perfect Poaching) […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

